Tags

, , ,

As we head into the weekend and the Super Bowl draws near, I wanted to share this super easy salad I adore making. In fact, after reading through old posts while writing my happy birthday to my blog post, I was quite surprised I had never blogged about this. This is probably one of my most favorite things to make and then just nosh on for a few days. It gets better overnight. I made it during Snowpacalypse 2012 here in Washington and then just munched on it throughout the day.

This dish is fast to put together, travels well, and you don’t have to fret if it sits out. Plus, one box of couscous feeds a pretty big crowd.

Jenn’s Lime Cilantro CousCous Salad

  • 1 (10 oz) box CousCous. Near East is always easy to find. You can use whole wheat if you want.
  • 2 Cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 small red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 (6 oz) container crumbled feta cheese
  • 3-4 limes
  • 2-3 Tbsp. chopped cilantro (or more, if you’re like me and love cilantro)
  • 1 teasp. cumin
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil (optional)
  1. Bring chicken stock to boil in medium sauce pan. Add couscous, stir, cover and remove from heat. After 5 minutes uncover and fluff, let stand 10 minutes.

    I almost added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice when I was making this, because the jars look the same. So, don't do that. That would be a whole other salad.

  2. In a large serving bowl mix olive oil, juice of at least 2 limes, cumin, salt.
  3. Add couscous and stir until the dressing is well mixed in. Taste. Add more lime juice if you like. I usually end up using at least three 3 limes, because I like the salad tangy. Adjust salt. Add the onion, pepper and feta.
  4. If you are serving immediately, add the cilantro. Otherwise, add cilantro right before serving.

Note 1: When you chop your cilantro, squeeze a few drops of lime juice onto the cilantro. It will help keep it from wilting.

Red onion really works best in this dish because it's a little sweeter. If you want a milder onion taste, try rinsing your diced onion in cool water before you add it to the salad.

I really love cilantro. Hence this giant picture of it, which adds nothing to my post.

Looks tasty right? It is! It is!