Tags

, , ,

IMG_9550Hi kids! How is the new year treating you? I’m studying for my third bar exam, so it’s safe to say the new year is not treating me all that well. Notice I didn’t say third and final, because I said that about the first two and look at what a liar I am now.

Anyhow, I try to limit the amount of time I spend eating/snacking because I just use that as a distraction for not memorizing constitutional law . . . again, but I do want to make sure I’m getting something relatively healthy (I’m not working out as much) and something filling (so I don’t end up shoveling a box of wheat thins in my face).

Smoothies always seem like a good option to me Β . . . but I hate cleaning the blender. Lo and behold, you can put a mason jar on your blender! BAM!! No wasted cleaning of the blender pitcher. You’ve made your smoothie in a jar that serves as a glass. It’s a pretty good portion control. You can make them ahead and freeze them, they are easy to transport and then you just put the mason jar in the dishwasher. GENIUS! And umm, you can make milkshakes this way too . . . for your kids of course, not yourself. And umm, I think this might also be a good method for making frozen adult drinks. But don’t quote me on that, because I haven’t actually tried it.

Now, here’s the thing. If you have a super fancy blender, this is probably not going to work. I’m pretty sure it works best with the $20 special blenders you get at Target. Check to make sure the blades won’t hit the sides of the jar BEFORE you turn on your blender.

Mason Jar Blender Smoothies

  • 1 16 oz. Mason Jar
  • your favorite combination of frozen/fresh fruit (think strawberries, pineapple, mangos, blueberries or whatever is on sale.) You’ll want at least some frozen, maybe just half a frozen banana, to give it the right texture.
  • OJ, apple juice, lemonade, beet juice, milk, soy milk, coconut milk or coconut water, some liquid
  • Yogurt, greek or regular (optional)
  1. Place fruit in jar
  2. Fill half way or a little less with liquid
  3. Add your yogurt
  4. PLEASE NOTE: do not over stuff the jar. You’ll ruin your blender AND if you intend to freeze the jar, you need to leave room for expansion.
  5. Screw the blender blades and base onto the open mouth of the mason jar.
  6. Blend. Remove ENTIRE base from blender and set the jar upright on the counter. Tap a few times to get everything to sink to the bottom of the jar, then remove base and blades.
  7. Enjoy.
Take empty, clean jar and fill it with your choice of frozen fruit. I used mango and strawberries because they happened to be on sale. OJ because it's flu season and a little greek yogurt for protein. If you hate yogurt, don't add it. You'll still get something delicious.

Take empty, clean jar and fill it with your choice of frozen fruit. I used mango and strawberries because they happened to be on sale. OJ because it’s flu season and a little greek yogurt for protein. If you hate yogurt, don’t add it. You’ll still get something delicious.

No joking. Pop those blades on that jar and make sure they DO NOT touch the sides.

No joking. Pop those blades on that jar and make sure they DO NOT touch the sides.

Everyone's blender is different, but put the base together just as you would if you were working with your blender pitcher. Just BE SURE you have everything screwed on tightly BEFORE you flip the jar over so the open end is facing the counter.

Everyone’s blender is different, but put the base together just as you would if you were working with your blender pitcher. Just BE SURE you have everything screwed on tightly BEFORE you flip the jar over so the open end is facing the counter.

Hello smoothie. Want to distract me from studying?

Hello smoothie. Want to distract me from studying?

