Tags

, , , ,

IMG_2357Some of my most favorite ornaments on our tree are the silly, crooked and badly colored ones I made as a little kid. There are some beautiful store bought ornaments out there but for me, homemade are the best. Last year the girls and I tried craft clay ornaments. We painted and modge podged and gave them away as gifts.

This year I thought we’d try cinnamon dough ornaments. Two ingredients to a delightful smelling house! I mean, two ingredients to super cute ornaments! Over 8 hours later my house still smells like a Yankee Candle store (without the pushy sales people), the girls have something to show for their time in the kitchen and my house smells good. Did I mention the smell? It’s good. All in all, a good day. This is a completely kid friendly craft, but please note, it requires a little bit of vigorous scrubbing to get the dough off your hands.

Did I mention how good this project smells? Did I? I can’t tell you enough HOW GOOD IT SMELLS.

Cinnamon Dough Ornaments (from the McCormicks website)IMG_2358

  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 bottle of cinnamon (4.17 ounces)
  1. Mix the two together throughly. Dough may appear crumbly.
  2. Working with 1/4- 1/2 the dough, roll out to between around 1/4- 1/3 inch thick between two sheets of parchment or two pieces of plastic wrap.
  3. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees. Cut out dough with cookie cutters and place on parchment lined cookie sheet. Use a straw or a bamboo skewer (blunt end) to poke a hole for ribbon or yarn.
  4. Bake for 2 hours, turning at least once.
  5. Let cool, decorate with ribbon. You can also glitter or paint them, but remember if you cover them entirely, they won’t smell as good.
Let the kids stir, but remind them to go very, very slowly at first. Cinnamon is a lot like powdered sugar or flour, it will fly around your kitchen.

Let the kids stir, but remind them to go very, very slowly at first. Cinnamon is a lot like powdered sugar or flour, it will fly around your kitchen. Even though the dough looks crumbly and dry, it’s actually pretty damp to the touch.

I taped the bottom sheet of parchment to the counter to keep it from sliding around. You could probably do it without the parchment, but I was worried it would stick, or stain my counter.

I taped the bottom sheet of parchment to the counter to keep it from sliding around. You could probably do it without the parchment, but I was worried it would stick, or stain my counter.

Using an offset spatula helped to pry the cutouts off the parchment without leaving any behind.

Using an offset spatula helped to pry the cutouts off the parchment without leaving any behind.

Sorry buddy, you get a ribbon hole to the hand.

Sorry buddy, you get a ribbon hole to the hand.

I think they are really petty to look at. And they smell incredible. Seriously. I can't tell you how much I wish  you could smell this picture.

I think they are really petty to look at. And they smell incredible. Seriously. I can’t tell you how much I wish you could smell this picture.

