Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_2348Alright everyone, here’s a super easy Christmas cookie recipe. This time of year I like to break out the cookies from scratch recipes (Gingersnaps! Norwegian Wedding CookiesPeppermint Patty Surprise!) but for some occasions you need something quick to make for the school concert, a party or a 20 minute entertain your kids. This time of year my girls are always clamoring to make cookies (translation: throw sprinkles on the floor) but I am often too lazy to make roll out cookies.

This idea is a spin on my Dr. Suess Cookie recipe. It’s the same ingredients, just a little different technique. I add extra vanilla, but since they look a little like candy canes, feel free to use peppermint extract!

Red and White Swirl Christmas CookiesIMG_2344

  • 1 package store bought sugar cookie mix
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla, peppermint or almond extract
  • red food coloring
  • sprinkles
  • parchment paper or saran wrap
  1. Prepare the dough according to package directions for roll out cookies. Add vanilla, peppermint or almond to taste/if desired.
  2. Place half of the dough in a bowl and cover with saran wrap. Add enough red food coloring to other half of dough to make it red (festive red, not zombie apocalypse red). Cover red dough, refrigerate both halves for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Pre heat oven according to package directions.
  4. Make balls of dough, one of each color. Roll out into approximately similar length ropes and lay parallel to one another. Pinch ends together.
  5. Starting at one end, wind the dough up into a pinwheel shape.
  6. Feel free to roll the edges of the pinwheel in sprinkles, or sprinkle the tops.
  7. Bake according to package directions roughly 9-10 minutes. You want to prevent browning on the edges if possible.
  8. Cool, then show off.
Sure, my dough may be a little pink, but I'm really afraid of using too much food coloring and things ending up like something was killed in my kitchen. Plus, it darkens a little when it bakes.

Sure, my dough may be a little pink, but I’m really afraid of using too much food coloring and things ending up like something was killed in my kitchen. Plus, it darkens a little when it bakes.

This is pretty much an exercise in your PlayDough skills. If you can't get it, grab a child to help you. They have an innate ability to roll balls of dough and make them into "snakes"

This is pretty much an exercise in your PlayDough skills. If you can’t get it, grab a child to help you. They have an innate ability to roll balls of dough and make them into “snakes”

We rolled the edges of our pinwheels in sprinkles. And by we, I mean Jane. And by rolled, I mean she threw the cookies in the sprinkles and shouted "DONE"

We rolled the edges of our pinwheels in sprinkles. And by we, I mean Jane. And by rolled, I mean she threw the cookies in the sprinkles and shouted “DONE”

That's pretty festive, right? No one has to know you used prepackaged dough and it took you roughly no time at all. I won't tell.

That’s pretty festive, right? No one has to know you used prepackaged dough and it took you roughly no time at all. I won’t tell.

