Tags

, , ,

Let’s get straight to it. Lately on Pinterest I’ve seen this recipe which involves a box of cake mix, some greek yogurt, some water (or sometimes no water) and viola! You have cake. Now look, I like to be healthly, but this really seemed too good to be true. But since it’s the baking time of year and the commissary is practically giving away boxed cake mix, I thought what the hell. I’ll try it.

The whole time I was making this I was thinking “Nope, this isn’t going to work. Should have just sat myself on the couch and eaten the greek yogurt plain. And then the jar of frosting. Plain. The batter is thick like the Jello Pudding Mousse my grandmother used to make. I had to spread it in the pans with an offset spatula. It was done 10 minutes before it was supposed to be, it wasn’t very tall when it came out of the pan and then it shrunk even more. I hesitated even wasting the time frosting it.

Turns out once again Pinterest is a genius. The cake is delicious. It’s moist. It’s sorta ok to eat calorie wise.

And for anyone who wonders why I’m not posting as frequently, I haven’t quit bloggging. I’ve just been writing some hard hitting news stories for the local paper (think table tennis and doulas real, Pulitzer material).

Greek Yogurt and Boxed Cake Mix

  • One box supermoist cake mix, any flavor
  • One cup of greek yogurt (please note that a single serving container is NOT a cup)
  • One cup of water
  1. Mix yogurt and water together. Stir in cake mix till combined.
  2. Bake according to package directions BUT SUBTRACT 5-10 MINUTES FROM COOKING TIME. Check you cake after allotted time and allow to bake more if necessary.

Nothing says yummy like water and yogurt. At this point I was sure this was a bad idea.

I don’t know if you can tell, but the batter is thick. Very concerning because it doesn’t look pourable like normal boxed cake mix.

The layers came out pretty flat, which I was sure meant it was ruined. So please note if you intend to make a layer cake this way, you might want to make three or four layers to get some height.

It’s totally ok to have two pieces! It’s practically like eating a carrot! I won’t judge you at all. Well I will, but only if you’re one of those people who takes a tiny slice and then goes back for a bigger piece when you think no one is looking. I see you.

