Tags

, , , , , , ,

So last week I stumbled upon this pin by Fifteen Spatulas and I may or may not have drug my children to the store just to buy the chocolate, despite their cries of “Mommmmmy, it’s dinner time! We’re hungry…” You’d think they’d know by now not to stand in the way of mommy making a desert.

Anyhow.

I am proud to report I ate most of them myself. They hit all of my requirements for something to be good enough to share: easy, delicious and larger than the store bought version which seemed to concern my husband “These are really big!” but didn’t bother me in the least. What kind of person gets upset their candy bar is bigger than expected?

I’m pretty addicted to the combination of sweet and salty, it saves me the trouble of having to stuff myself with chocolate and then get up again for the chips, so that’s why I added a little sprinkle of salt. But that’s completely optional and yes, I do know Skippy peanut butter is packed with salt already. You can make these really highbrow and impress your fancy friends by using natural peanut butter and fair trade, hand milled, organic chocolate. If you have friends that need impressing. And please, go visit Fifteen Spatulas. It’s a really lovely blog.

Salted Peanut Butter Cups

  • 16 oz. chocolate (I used a mixture of dark chips and a hershey bar, you do what makes you happy)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 or 2 Tbsp. softened butter
  • sea salt for sprinkling (optional)
  • cupcake liners and a 12 muffin tin
  1. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners. Divide the chocolate in half and melt one half over a double boiler.
  2. Scoop approximately 1 tablespoon of chocolate into the bottom of each liner. Divide any remaining chocolate evenly between the liners. Grasping both ends of the muffin tin, gently drop the tin on the counter until the chocolate is level in the bottoms of the liners, place tin in freezer for 15 minutes.
  3. In the meantime, make the peanut butter filling. Whip together peanut butter, powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon of softened butter. If your peanut butter mixture is having a hard time coming together, use additional 1 tablespoon of softened butter.
  4. Evenly distribute peanut butter over chocolate layer. You made need to drop it a little harder this time to get the peanut butter to spread out, or use a spoon or your finger to make sure it’s relatively level. Sprinkle lightly with salt if desired. Freeze 15 minutes.
  5. Melt the remaining chocolate, divide and spread over peanut butter layer. Freeze another 15 minutes.
  6. Enjoy. Store in refrigerator. To keep them cool and also to keep your kids from eating them before you do.

I am terrified of melting chocolate in the microwave for fear of scorching it. Double boiler is almost as fast and it keeps the chocolate melted the entire time you are scooping it into the liners. Just remember to reduce the water to a simmer once it comes to a boil.

Just a little sprinkle of sea salt for some extra yumminess. TOTALLY OPTIONAL though. You know, for people who hate good flavor. Or have high blood pressure.

Yep, I know they make really lovely cupcake liners these days. But the pastel ones are 52 cents for a whole mess of them. So I’m sticking with those. Additionally, you can see how hard it is to get the peanut butter and second chocolate layer just right. Good thing they taste the same.

