Tags

, , , , , ,

Well so we moved . . . again. And in order to avoid putting things away and hanging the pictures on the walls (what, you don’t keep your pictures stacked against the wall? that isn’t a good way to display them?) I read my cookbooks. I know, I’m an odd duck. BUT, I did come across this recipe in Cooking Light and I’ve only modified it a little bit. And by modified, I mean I left out the rum, because I didn’t have any and going to buy a bottle of rum at 9 a.m. with two kids in tow seemed a little uncouth, even for me.

This bread is a great twist on humdrum banana bread (although my gramma’s banana bread coffee cake is awesome, in case you don’t want to try this recipe). It’s great for guests (my brother and sister in law both had two pieces. and they aren’t into doing things just to make me feel good, so it must have been at least edible).

Coconut banana bread with Citrus Glaze

Potato mashers. Not just for potatoes anymore.

  • 2 Cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teasp. baking soda
  • 1/2 teasp. salt
  • 4 Tbsp. butter, softened
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt (greek or regular)
  • 1 1/2 Cup mashed banana
  • 2 Tbsp. dark rum
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup coconut
  • Topping: 1Tbsp. coconut, 2 Tbsp lime or lemon juice and powdered sugar
  1. Whisk together dry ingredients, set aside. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  2. Mix together the mashed banana, yogurt, rum and vanilla, add to butter mixture. Add dry ingredients in two batches. Stir in coconut
  3. Heat oven to 350. Pour batter into a greased 9×5 loaf pan, sprinkle with 2 Tbsp. coconut and bake for one hour or until toothpick comes out clean. **Note: check your loaf after 20-30 minutes. You will probably need to tent the pan to keep the coconut from burning.
  4. Remove from oven and cool for ten minutes. **To make the glaze, mix 2 Tbsp. lime or lemon juice with enough powdered sugar (about 1/2-3/4 cup) to thicken it up and be your desired sweetness. Pour over warm bread.

What’s that? Put some coconut in my banana bread? WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT BEFORE?!

What’s that? Sprinkle more coconut on top so it can get all toasted and delicious? Absolutely!

When the coconut starts to get really toasty, build your bread a little foil tent to keep the coconut from burning.

The citrus glaze cuts the sweetness and adds something unexpected.

Coconut on the inside and on the top. Pretty much the best idea ever.

