Tags

, , , , ,

So I’ve got a confession to make. I’m not very good at eating leftovers. I usually make my husband eat them. Except he isn’t around much . . . so that’s some food going to waste. I’m especially bad with leftover chicken. I always think “Oh, I’ll make a salad tomorrow, or reheat this” but i never do and it sits forlornly in its Pyrex dish until I toss it (I know, I know, there are starving children …)

Today I put an end to that. I thought, hey, I’ve got some cilantro and some limes (both of which I adore) and I’ve got this leftover grilled chicken . . . so lets put some other stuff in there and make chicken salad! I had seen something similar on Pinterest, but it had mayo in it. And I hate mayo. Also, it didn’t have nearly enough lime and cilantro for may taste.

Makes 6 portions. Serve alone or in a pita pocket (because bread just doesn’t seem cool enough)

Southwest Chicken Salad

Thanks for the tip!

For the Salad:

  • 2 cups shredded chicken breast (use grilled, baked or rotisserie, just make sure it’s chilled)
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 4 green onions, diced
  • 1/2 Cup frozen corn (or fresh if you have it)
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 head iceberg lettuce, chopped

For the Dressing:

  • 1/2 – 3/4 Cup light sour cream (You could probably use greek yogurt, but it will change the taste, proceed with caution)
  • 2 limes
  • 1 small to medium avocado
  • 3 Tbsp cilantro
  • 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. cumin, tabasco
  1. Make the dressing in the bottom of a large bowl. Mash the avocado into the sour cream with a fork or a potato masher. Add the juice of one lime, cilantro, the cumin, salt and a dash of tabasco. Mix until blended.
  2. Add the salad ingredients, stir well. Taste, add more lime if necessary and adjust seasoning accordingly.
  3. Stand over sink and eat large spoonfuls. Enjoy! I recommend you serve this immeadiately. If you don’t, I’m sure it will taste fine but of course the lettuce will lose it’s crunch.

Salad Ingredients. That’s right! Iceberg lettuce! I feel sorry for iceberg. No one loves it anymore.

Dressing ingredients. So easy!

Yeah, that’s right. I used a potato masher to smush together the sour cream and avocado. Otherwise that masher probably wouldn’t see any action until Thanksgiving.

Easy with the hot sauce!

See how I used a large wooden spoon to mix it? I used that same spoon to eat it. Lots of it. And I don’t even feel bad, because it’s just a lot of veggies and protein.

