Tags

, , ,

If you’ve been on Pinterest or any DIY wedding blog lately, you may have seen a pin for the best wedding cake/ white cake/ all around cupcake ever. Apparently having cupcakes at your wedding is the hippest thing in town. Immediately I was hooked. You see, I adore wedding cake. Just adore it. Chances are if I come to your wedding, it’s for the cake. Yes, I’m very happy for you and your beloved, blah blah blah. But point me to the cake. And the open bar. So I was really interested to see if you could actually make your own nirvana at home, without having to get dressed up and buy a spatula and watch the crazy uncle dance the chicken dance. And anyhow, it was Valentine’s Day and the girls were clamoring to smear pink frosting on something, so this seemed like a good match.

The experiment: The best part is that there  is nothing fancy here, just the addition of a few extra (usually on hand) ingredients to boxed cake mix. We divided the batter in half and flavored one with two teaspoons of vanilla and the other with 1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract.

The verdict: These are good cupcakes. Really good. Better than box mix for sure. They are moist and a little more dense than a regular cupcake, and the flavor is certainly better. And the extra sugar doesn’t hurt. I’m not going to say they are the best cupcake ever. Definitely above average and servable to strangers.

Would I serve them at a wedding? Maybe as a late night parting favor, but not as the main event. But you can take that with a grain of salt, since I love wedding cake. So. Much. Next time I need to make cupcakes, I’m going to make this recipe and try to fill them with lemon or raspberry.

The Post Script: This makes about 36 cupcakes, which the girls and I could not eat all at once. Ok, should not eat all at once. So I froze the extras. They have frozen very well, wrapped tightly in plastic and then put into a gladware container.

The Recipe: White Wedding Cupcakes

(from the recipegirl.com)

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 3/4 teasp. salt
  • 1 teasp. vanilla extract (see above for measurements I used)
  • 4 large egg whites
  1. Preheat oven to 325 and place your favorite cupcake liners in a muffin tin
  2. Whisk together all dry ingredients, then add the wet and mix until blended.
  3. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
  4. Cool before frosting.

Me and my pastel cupcake liners are so old school. But they don't sell fancy (or even primary colors) and the commissary.

You know how everyone says to use an ice cream scoop for loading the batter? For nice evenly sized cupcakes (or cookies)? Yeah, I don't have an ice cream scoop. And I don't believe in making everything perfectly the same size. So I use a measuring cup. Craziness!

I don't know if these are the best cupcakes ever. But my kids liked them enough to decorate them and then scarf them. So that has to mean something, right?

Go ahead, decorate them fancy! Serve them at your wedding! Or eat them standing up over the sink after your kids go to bed . . .

