Tags

, , ,

For Christmas, my parents gave me one of the best presents I can think of: cookbooks. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love diamonds or a pony as much as the next girl, but once you reach a certain age you realize you might have to scale back your Christmas wish list.

One of the books they gave me was Best of the Best Cookbook Recipes vol. 14 put together by Food and Wine Magazine. To order it you can go here (it isn’t up on Amazon for cheap yet). It’s a compilation book, which I really like because I don’t have to spring for 25 different cookbooks. This recipe for shrimp in green sauce, originally published in The New York Times in 2003 seemed like an easy place to dive into the book. Plus, I’m always at a little bit of a loss for what to do with shrimp when it’s too rainy to grill it.

SO DELICIOUS. Really, I can’t even tell you how much I love it, and I love it even more because it’s so simple. As a note, I used 8 cloves of garlic the second time around because Kirk and I both agreed it could use a little more garlic flavor. Also, I had to substitute a small shallot for scallions. It was ok, but the scallions really make it delicious. On our first try we just ate the shrimp with some bread as the book suggests, but the second time we tossed it with a little fettucine. If you need something quick and delectable and easy for a crowd, this is it. Trust me. Now go get yourself some parsley and dig out your food processor.

Shrimp in Green Sauce

  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 scallions, chopped
  • 1 cup flat leaf parsley leaves and thin stems
  • 2 lbs. medium shrimp, peeled
  • 4 dried chiles, crushed or a few pinches of crushed red pepper, to taste
  • 1/3 cup chicken/fish broth or dry white wine, or water
  • salt and pepper
  1. Heat the oven to 500 degrees. Combine oil and garlic in small food processor (I used my blender) and blend until smooth. Add scallions and parsley, pulse until minced. Toss with shrimp, salt, pepper and chiles.
  2. Place shrimp in 13×9 roasting pan (or similar size) (I lined mine with foil, unsure of what could happen to the shrimp at 500 degrees). Add broth or wine. Roast, stirring once, until mixture is bubbly and shrimp are pink 10-15 minutes (I took mine out at 9, nothing like overcooked shrimp to ruin things).
  3. You’re done. I squeeze half a lemon over my shrimp, which is NOT in the original recipe, and you don’t have too. But it made it more delicious.

NOTE: To make your garlic easier to peel, pop the cloves in the microwave for ten seconds. The skin will come right off, and it make them easier to break down in the processor.

You can use broth, but since I always have wine on hand . . .

Before and after. Since the shrimp are roasted so quick and hot, the marinade really retains all of its great color.

Use noodles or bread or some other carb to soak up the broth in the bottom of your roasting pan. DO NOT waste it.

Photos made fancy with InstaGram and photostitch

