Tags

, , ,

I found this recipe on Pinterest, which should really be called “Make me want to redecorate my home while simultaneously stuffing myself to obesity.com” I swear to God, I’ve gained five pounds since I joined Pinterest and I hate all of my furniture.

I digress. This pie is deliciously simple to make. It’s apparently from Martha Stewart’s New Pies and Tarts book. I made it for New Year’s Eve, despite a long day of car trouble (smoke from the engine, anyone?), the store not having the right kind of champagne and two kids fussy from not enough attention. It was still so easy and absolutely worth the effort.

If your New Year’s resolution does not involve loosing weight, go for it. Hell, who am I kidding? I’d go for it even if my resolution was to be back at my high school weight by next year. It’s really that good.

Note: Next time, I am going to lightly toast at least half of the coconut before forming it into the crust. I had a hard time getting the middle of my crust to brown up and lets face it, the toasted coconut makes the whole thing. So you might want to try that. Or not.

Crisp Coconut and Chocolate Pie

  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 6 cups sweetened shredded coconut
  • 8 oz. bittersweet chocolate (preferably 61% cacao), finely chopped. Please note, I used Ghiardehelli bittersweet chocolate chips, because that’s what the commissary had, and added 1 teasp. of cocoa powder to bitter it up a little. You do what makes you happy.
  • 1 1/4 cups heavy cream
  1. Preheat oven to 350. In a food processor, process 1/3 of the coconut and butter until it forms a ball (1-2 minutes). Sprinkle the remaining coconut over and mix together with your hands.
  2. Spray a 9 inch pie dish with cooking spray and press coconut evenly onto bottom and up the sides, leaving the top fluffy. Cover edges with foil and bake 10-15 minutes, until bottom is slightly browned. Remove foil and bake 4-5 more minutes, until edges are brown. Remove and let cool.
  3. In a medium saucepan, bring cream just to a boil. Place chocolate in a large bowl, pour cream over, let stand for ten minutes. Stir until chocolate is smooth, pour into crust.
  4. Refrigerate at least 1 hour, up to one day.

Hmmm, what should I put in this delicious coconut crust . . .

. . . Oh right! Melty chocolate and heavy cream!

See? Not all the coconut gets toasted with Martha's method (oh lord, don't let her henchmen come kill me now)

Happy New Year to me!

