Tags

, ,

So the other day while I was drooling over all the fabulous recipes people post on Pinterest (I think I’m gaining weight just looking at them) I ran across a ‘recipe’ for craft clay. It seemed easy enough and I already had the stuff to make it in the cabinet. That, coupled with the fact Grace was bored and we were off on a crafting adventure.

We used our clay to make ornaments. But you could use them as package ties, or use larger pieces to record your kids handprints. I promise you, this is the easiest craft you’ll ever do with your kids. Even for those of you who hate crafting, or hate the thought of a mess in your house. Just try it. You’ll like it.

Easy Craft Clay

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 box baking soda
  • 1 cup cornstarch

Mix all ingredients in a medium saucepan. Heat over medium heat, stirring continuously, scraping the bottom, until clay becomes too thick to stir. Remove from heat and let cool in plastic or glass bowl (covered loosely with plastic wrap) until the clay is cool enough to handle.

Knead for 5 minutes (NOTE: for one batch I let it knead in my mixer with the dough hook, and one I did by hand, they turned out the same) Roll clay out between wax paper or parchment paper to desired thickness.

Use cookie cutters to make ornament shapes, or you can trace cups, bowls, whatever you have to make discs, squares, etc. Once they are cut let them dry for at least 24 and up to 48 hours depending on thickness of clay.

If you are going to hang them as ornaments, be sure to poke a hole in them while they are still pliable. Otherwise you’re going to have to get out some sort of chisel . . .

Once ornaments are dry, paint with craft paint or tempera paint. I used crayola washable paints because that’s what we have around here. The washable stuff.

Jane was thrilled to be painting just like her big sister!

Grace took the job of painting the ornaments very seriously. And no, that's not her wine.

When the paint is dry, you’re ready to hang them! I brushed both sides with Mod Podge glaze just to help keep them from flaking and hold up a bit better. But that step is optional. Let the kids hang them up and you’re done!

