Tags

, , , ,

Well kids, it’s that time of year again. Time to eat piles and piles of treats and get really fat so come around January 2nd you can feel bad about yourself. Luckily I never EVER feel guilty about scarfing holiday treats because I don’t want to come to the end of my life and think “Damn, here I am going to die anyway, too bad I deprived myself of all those cookies .”

This gingersnap recipe is my grandmother’s. When I was little her house would be full of trays and trays of the most delicious goodies this time of year. Everything from basic cut out cookies to the fancy stuff like fudge (what’s that? fudge isn’t fancy? you must be one of those people with a candy thermometer and no kids pulling on your legs). These were some of my favorites. Really spicy and they just taste . . . warm.

I will warn you, there isn’t much snap to these gingersnaps. That’s why I love them. If I wanted something crunchy, I’d eat a cracker. They are crispy on the edges but soft and chewy in the middle. So if you like brittle cookies, you’ll want another recipe. Really, give these a try and add them to your holiday repertoire. It’s easy to make a lot and they pack well, if you get roped into one of those exchanges where ladies try to one up each other with fanciful cookies. From experience I know these gingersnaps are a sleeper hit at things like that.

Gramma Edna’s Gingersnaps

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • 3/4 Cup butter
  • 1 Cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 Cup molasses
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 1/4 Cup flour
  • 2 teas. baking soda
  • 1/2 teas. salt
  • 1 teas. ginger
  • 1 Tbsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/2 teas. cloves
  • 1/4 cup white sugar (for rolling)
  1. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add molasses and egg.
  2. In a separate large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves. Add in two additions to butter/sugar mixture.
  3. Place 1/4 cup white sugar on a plate or in a small bowl. Form 1-2 inch balls of gingersnap dough and roll in sugar.
  4. Place gingersnap balls at least 2 inches apart on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake 8-10 minutes, until just brown on the edges. Let cool 2 minutes before removing from sheet.

Makes one spicy cookie. This ain't no dainty cut out ya'll.

She looks like a nice old lady, no?

I particularly like the way the sugar sparkles. Makes 'em look like magical little dough balls.

Jane couldn't be bothered to wait for them to bake. She got a spoon and helped herself.

I don't know why you haven't made these yet.

