Tags

, , , , ,

Ahhh, fall. Turning leaves, football, chili, finding five dollars in your coat pocket left from last year . . . and canned pumpkin. After rumored canned pumpkin shortage of 2009, I’ve started stocking up months before it’s appropriate to make pumpkin pie. The bonus: I can make pumpkin bread while I wait for the right time to make pumpkin pie. Because honestly, I’m not the biggest fan of pumpkin pie, so I only want to make it and eat it once.

I’ve had this recipe for a long time. I’m pretty sure I ripped it off from a can of Libby’s pumpkin. I googled pumpkin bread recipes and discovered it’s pretty standard. A long time ago I was short on white sugar and used some brown sugar and I’ve been doing it ever since. Thanks to the wonders of the internet I find everyone else is doing it too and I’m not that special.

You use whatever sugar makes you happy. Today I made one loaf with golden raisins and one without (because Grace has recently and mysteriously developed an aversion to raisins when she used to shove them down like candy). One of the best parts of making pumpkin bread is the smell in your house. It smells divinely warm and cozy. Like pumpkin pie on cocaine. It’s also an easy recipe, if you’re looking to make something with the wee ones or you’ve got to make something for a bake sale or potluck.

Pumpkin Bread

  • 1 Cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 Cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 Cups dark (or light)  brown sugar
  • 1 teasp. vanilla
  • 3 Cups flour
  • 2 teasp. cinnamon (or more! go crazy!)
  • 1 1/2 teasp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 teasp. ground ginger OR cloves OR pumpkin pie spice OR all spice . . . you get the idea
  • 1 1/2 teasp. baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 16 oz. can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix) (oh, and most cans are 15 ozs. that’s ok!)
  1. Cream together butter and sugars. Add vanilla. Add dry ingredients in two batches, only mix until combined (I usually stop the mixer before it’s all mixed and stir by hand). Add pumpkin.
  2. Pour into two greased, parchment lined loaf pans. Bake at 350 for 45-75 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Sorry about the time difference but in my experience with a million different ovens it can really vary. Just keep an eye on it.

Other suggested add ins: dark chocolate chips, walnuts, pecans, sunflower seeds, cranberries, white chocolate chips. You can also dust the top with cinnamon sugar or pour on some sugar glaze (1 1/2 Cups powdered sugar, add tablespoon of water until thin).

It wouldn't be this time of year if you weren't dumping loads of cinnamon and nutmeg in everything.

Honest to God I wish you could smell the batter. Hello, bath and bodyworks? You know those fall lotions you always make that smell synthetic? Make this batter and just put it in a bottle instead.

yum. yum. yum.

