Tags

, , ,

I love chili. I love it so much I was willing to make it when it was 80 degrees and the breeze was blowing through the palm trees. But I tend to stick to my own recipe. Now that we are back on the mainland and the temp has dipped into the 50’s (how did I ever live like this?!) I feel like I need to add some different chilis to my repertoire.

This recipe is about the easiest chili ever. And very flavorful. Took me maybe 25 minutes to make. And no, that doesn’t count the 4 minutes it took me to put two large, bone in chicken breasts, salt and peppered, into the oven to roast at 425 for about 30 minutes (always use a thermometer to check doneness, I’m not going to be responsible for you giving yourself salmonella). And yes, I said bone in. And skin on. My gramma was right, chicken just tastes better when you cook it like that. I left out the cayenne, because I wanted Grace and Jane to eat it, but we have quite the supply of hot sauce here, so the grown ups weren’t lacking for heat.

The recipe as is makes four servings, so I didn’t have much left over. But allrecipes is so awesome, and you can adjust the number of servings and they give you the new measurements, if you’re feeding a crowd or want some to freeze or take to work.

Keep this one in mind for the next time you want chili in a hurry. Oh, and p.s. I used fresh jalapenos, diced really tiny. Then I wiped my eye with my hand. Fresh jalapeno = good. Burning eye = bad. Lesson = wash ya hands, dummy.

Cha Cha’s White Chicken Chili

  • 1 Tbsp vegetable or olive oil
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced jalapenos
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chilis
  • 2 teas. ground cumin
  • 1 teas. oregano
  • 1 teas. cayenne pepper
  • 2 cans (14.5 oz) chicken broth
  • 3 cans white beans (white kidney). Rinse and drain. For a thicker chili, smush one can of beans with the back of the fork before adding.
  • About 3 cups of cooked, shredded or chopped chicken breast. If you use more, no one will know!
  • 1 cup shredded monteray jack cheese
  • For toppings: cilantro, limes, more cheese, sour cream, etc. etc.
  1. Heat oil over medium low heat. Cook the onion until tender. Then add garlic, chiles, jalapenos, cumin, oregano and cayenne. Continue to cook until tender, about 3 minutes. Don’t burn the garlic! Add broth, chicken and beans. Simmer for 15 minutes
  2. Remove from heat, stir in cheese. And your done. No joke!

I know this isn't a tasty photo. But let me tell you, the smell of the chiles and the onion and cumin was mind blowing. That's when I knew the chili would be yum yum yum.

That's right! The cheese goes IN the chili! Magical. And if you don't like cheese in your chili, I bet you could leave it out. But that would make you a weirdo.

I like to have a choice in my hot pepper sauce. Always put them out for guests. And this way I can add my own heat without ruining meals for children or grown ups who complain about heat. Like children.

Well hello quick, delicious chili.

