Tags

, , ,

This is my attempt to show how delicious it looked while simmering. I think I mess up the camera with all the steam we both got in the face.This ain’t no Dinty Moore.

This is my house smells divine, catch a man, call your gramma and tell her to take her recipe back, worth every last potato chopped, no hesitation over having seconds, start a Christmas Eve tradition stew. This is good sh*t. Sorry for the language mom.

I know what you want to say. You already have a good stew recipe. It’s a family recipe. You make it in the crock pot and there is less mess. I get it. I have that recipe too. I was searching for a better crock pot recipe when I came across this one. Guinness and wine in a pot with slow cooked beef? You had me at Guinness.

The only problem: I had to buy a four pack of Guinness and I hate the stuff. And I’m too old for Irish Car Bombs. So now I’m off for more recipes that will use it up. . .

The only change I would even consider making is more wine and beer and less stock. That’s it. So. Good.

Irish Beef Stew

  • 1/4 Cup olive oil
  • 1 1/4 lbs well marbled chuck (not extra lean) cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups beef broth
  • 1 cup EACH Guinness and a good red wine
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste, 1 Tbsp. Sugar, 1 Tbsp dried Thyme, 1 Tbsp Worcestershire
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 3 lbs russet potatoes, peeled, cut into 1/2 slices
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cups 1/2 inch slices carrots
  • Salt and Pepper,
  • Parsley to garnish
  1. Heat oil in large pot over medium high heat. Salt beef. Add beef to pot and brown on all sides. Add the beef in batches, so that you don’t crowd the pot. Crowding prevents browning. When meat is all browned, add garlic and saute one minute. Then add: stock, wine, Guinness, tomato paste, thyme, Worcestershire sauce and sugar. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 1 hour.
  2. While the stock mixture simmers, melt butter in a large pot and add potatoes, onions and carrots. SauteĀ 20 minutes until they start to brown and soften. Set aside until stock mixture has simmered one hour.
  3. After the hour is up, add potatoes, etc. and simmer for another 40 minutes, until the meat and veggies are tender. Season with salt and pepper. Skim any fat off the top. Garnish with parsley and serve hot.
  4. Can be prepared up to 2 days ahead. Cool slightly. Refrigerate uncovered until cold, then cover and refrigerate. Bring to simmer before serving.

Kirk was such a good sport, he peeled all the carrots and potatoes for me. Because I HATE peeling potatoes. Hate it. What a husband!

Ugh. The only thing I hate more than peeling potatoes is chopping them. And that's A LOT of potatoes.

Finished product. Yum yum delicious yum.

