Tags

, , , , , ,

I subscribe to and impulse buy many, many food magazines. It’s a little ridiculous for a woman who doesn’t even have time to go to finish a cup of coffee. But here I am every month with a million recipe ideas swimming in my head, magazine pages dog eared, and I’m lucky if I make one or two. So this month I decided to start combining recipes. I know, this is pretty groundbreaking stuff. I should have warned you, huh?

Tonight for dinner I made Better Homes and Gardens Sweet Potato Soup and Food Network Magazine’s Marc Forgiones’s Cornbread with Creme Fraiche. Because really, what goes together better than soup and bread?

The soup was delicious (despite the fact that I used too much curry) and Grace was able to help with some of the steps. I did have to use a little milk to thin it out, but that’s just a a personal thing. The cornbread was also good. It was much more moist than any cornbread I’ve ever had, and I liked that. I hate crumbly cornbread. I couldn’t find any creme fraiche around here and while you can make it at home, I didn’t feel confident doing that. I substituted plain greek yogurt. I bet you could use sour cream as well.

Warning: If you have a cholesterol problem, don’t read any farther. The ingredient lists alone may give you heart disease.

Sweet Potato Soup

  • 2 lbs sweet potatoes
  • 3 green onions, coarsely chopped
  • 1 14 oz. can vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 3/4 teas. curry powder.
  1. Place sweet potatoes on a microwave safe plate. Pierce with a fork liberally, to let the steam escape. Microwave 5 minutes on high, rotate and microwave another five minutes on high. CAREFULLY remove from microwave (plate will be hot as well as the potatoes).
  2. Split potatoes in half lengthwise and using an oven mitt, scrape the flesh into a food processor or blender with onions and half the broth. Process until smooth. Note: I used a little extra broth to get the whole thing going. But my blender sucks.
  3. Place sweet potato puree in large saucepan with the other half of the stock and whipping cream, heat over medium heat until heated through, add curry powder and salt and pepper to taste.

Hot Potato! Protect your hands at all costs!

I love the way curry powder smells. It smells warm.

Keep that lid on!

Note: I used instagram on these photos, so in real life the soup looks a little less dayglo, if you're worried.

Marc Forgione’s Cornbread with Creme Fraiche

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 teasp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teasp. salt
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup creme fraiche
  1. In a small saucepan, over medium heat, melt the butter in the milk. DO NOT let the milk come to a boil. Remove from heat. While butter melts, use a large bowl and sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cornmeal.
  2. In a smaller bowl, whisk together eggs and creme fraiche. Add milk/butter mixture and whisk. Whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients until smooth.
  3. Coat a 9×13 inch baking dish with butter or spray. Pour mixture into baking dish and bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes. Let cool a few minutes before slicing and serving.

Easy enough for Grace!

Jane loved the soup. She kept shouting for more. Which sounds like this: "Mo! Mo! Mo!"

