Tags

, , , , ,

Look, the title pretty much says it all. I was hankering for a cookie the other day and wanted something really, really fast. No fooling around with odd ingredients, no special tools, no dough in the freezer over night, no cookie cutters.

Thanks to the power of Google, 5 seconds later I was staring at this recipe. The small amount of rolled oats gives them just the right texture and taste and the peanut butter isn’t overwhelming, but makes for a very smooth cookie. I think the recipe should really be called “Possibly the best AND easiest cookie of all time” but that’s just me.

Looking for easy bake sale cookies? Surprise guests? Must. Have. Cookie. NOW? Make these. Trust me, you won’t regret it. Unless you eat half the uncooked dough, like I did. Then you’ll just regret not having more baked cookies at the end.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (note: I switched the measurements for brown and white andthey turned out divine anyhow. Who says baking is such an exact science?)
  • 1/2 teas. vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teas. baking soda
  • 1/4 teas. salt
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips

Melted butter, two kinds of sugar and peanut butter? Ummm, yeah, I'll take some of that.

  1. Preheat oven to 350.Cream together softened butter and sugars. Add peanut butter, egg and vanilla and mix until well blended. In another bowl, stir together flour, soda and salt.
  2. Mix in the flour mixture until just combined (if using an electric mixer, turn off before all the flour is mixed in and finish by hand). Stir in chips and oats.
  3. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto parchment or lightly greased cookie sheets. Make a small indent in top of cookie dough.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool on cookie sheet 5 minutes before transferring (no joke about that. I always think that’s silly and I never do it and then these cookies fell apart).

If you press down in the center just a little, it helps the cookies spread and bake evenly.

I got about 18-20 cookies from this recipe, not the 3 dozen promised. Absolutely not enough! I would double next time for sure!

