Tags

, , , ,

Quite awhile ago, I purchased a Martha Stewart silicone baking mat on impulse. I was lured by the pale shade of turquoise. I was seeing them all over tv for cookies. No need for rolls of parchment! No more messy PAM spray! Turns out, I hate baking cookies on that mat. The bottom is always burned before the middle even begins to cook. I googled the mat for this post, but apparently they don’t make it anymore. The one good thing about the mat, and the one thing I bake on it are Snickerdooldes. Martha was so kind as to include the recipe with the mat.

I love these cookies. I really do. Really simple and delicious. Even if you aren’t a regular baker, odds are you have all the ingredients on hand. Good to have with a cup of coffee.

Martha’s Snickerdoodles

  • 2 3/4 Cups Flour
  • 2 teas. baking powder
  • 1/2 teas. salt
  • 1 1/2 Cups Sugar
  • 1 Cup butter (2 sticks) softened
  • 2 large eggs (room temp)
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 teas. cinnamon ( I sometimes add a little extra cinnamon)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. Beat for at least 3 minutes, until light and fluffy. Mix in eggs one at a time until well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together flour/baking powder/salt. And in three additions, mixing well after each, but DO NOT over mix. In fact, turn the mixer off when there is still flour stuck to the sides of the bowl and mix by hand.
  4. JENN’S NOTE: Put your dough in the freezer or fridge for at least 10 ¬†minutes for it to firm up. Makes it much easier to roll into balls and I swear it makes the cookies have a lighter texture. This isn’t part of Martha’s recipe.
  5. While the dough chills, mix together 2 Tbsp sugar and 2 teasp. cinnamon on a plate or shallow bowl.
  6. Roll dough into 1-2 inch balls with your hands. Then roll in cinnamon-sugar mixture until completely coated. Space at least 2 inches apart on a mat or parchment lined baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the cookies are firm and not yet brown on the bottom. Rotate halfway through baking. Let cool 1 minute before removing from cookie sheet.
  8. Go ahead and try to wait for them to cool to eat them.

Mmmm, light and fluffy butter and sugar. You really have to beat it to get it this way, so don't be afraid. BEAT THAT BUTTER!

Really coat the cookie on all sides with the cinnamon sugar. It gives them great crunch. This is a perfect task for kids. If you use a bowl, they can shake the bowl to coat. Not too messy.

My favorite is the one with extra cinnamon. I horde those for myself.

Brother in law approved!

