Tags

, , , ,

This post brought to you by the letters S and J, the number 3 and by Leigh Graves Wolf for turning me on to this idea. When I was little, my great aunts would make jelly and can veggies and make their own jars of pickles. It always seemed like a lengthy, messy, hot process. That’s why I’ve avoided ever doing any canning. If it can’t be done in under 20 minutes, with two nutty kids around, if it demands my full attention and has to have exact measurements, I can’t do it. Or I can, but it won’t end well.

Freezer jam, however, is like canning for lazy folks. You take your berries, you mix them with sugar (lots!) you stir in some pectin and BAM. You’ve made jam. Try it with the ripe berries at your store right now. I promise you’ll feel really old timey and domestic.

Cooks note: You really have to measure exactly and time everything exactly to do this. It’s not hard, but it does require precision. I made two separate batches, the first one I sorta half paid attention and it didn’t set up as well as the second where I used my inner Martha Stewart to be precise. Happy Jamming!

Sure Jell Strawberry Freezer Jam

  • 2 Cups crushed Strawberries (we used about 2 lbs, minus a few that we ate)
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 box SURE JELL pectin
  1. Wash jars according to package instructions, or wash plastic containers with boiling water. Crush strawberries one cup at a time (I used a potato masher). Measure exactly 2 cups of crushed berries into bowl and mix with sugar. Let stand 10 minutes.
  2. Bring water and pectin to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring constantly. Boil one minute, continue stirring. Pour boiling mixture into strawberries, stir and let stand for three minutes.
  3. Fill all containers immediately to 1/2 of top. Seal. Let stand at room temperature 24 hours. Jam is now ready. Refrigerate 3 weeks or freeze up to 1 year.
  4. LOW SUGAR OPTION: Use 4 cups fruit and 3 Cups of sugar.

