Tags

, , , , ,

A few weeks ago, our farm share came full of zucchini. And so I pulled out the Better Homes Cookbook and made their zucchini bread recipe. And it was ok. But I remembered it being extra delicious when I was a kid, so I called up my folks to get my mom’s recipe. Turns out it’s my Grandma Edna’s recipe. The secret weapon? Wheat germ. That’s right kids, my gramma was using wheat germ and eating whole grain bread and taking vitamins before it was the hip thing to do.

So this afternoon with another load of zucchini, I made the bread again. SO. GOOD. Smelled so intoxicating out of the oven I only let it cool down enough to handle, then I sliced myself what could be considered a large piece or half a loaf, depending. The wheat germ really helps to cut down on the sweetness of the bread. This one is a keeper. Thanks gramma!

Edna’s Wheat Germ Zucchini Bread

  • 3 eggs, beaten

    Looks to healthy. Let's add two cups of sugar and some oil!

  • 1 Cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 Cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup cooking oil ( I used 1/2 cup canola and 1/2 cup applesauce)
  • 2 teas. maple syrup OR vanilla
  • 2 Cups peeled, shredded zucchini
  • 2 teas. baking soda
  • 1/2 teas. baking powder
  • 1 teas. cinnamon
  • 1 teas. salt
  • 1/2 Cup wheat germ
  • 2 1/2 Cups unsifted flour
  • 1 Cup of nuts (your choice!)
  • 1/3 Cup sesame seeds
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Beat eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla until foamy and thick. Stir in zucchini.
  3. In another bowl, mix flour, wheat germ, soda, powder, cinnamon and salt. Mix into egg mixture slowly. Add nuts.
  4. Divide batter evenly between two greased and parchment lined loaf pans. Sprinkle top with sesame seeds.
  5. Bake for 50-60 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool bread in pans 10 minutes before removing.

Baker’s Note: I couldn’t find sesame seeds. I did have sunflower seeds though, so I stirred 1/3 cup of those right in and reduced the amount of added salt to compensate for them being dry roasted. I also added in some cranberries. Golden raisins or chocolate chips might also be delicious.

So I almost grated my finger. Stop when you have just a nub of zucchini left. Chop it up or just eat it. Save your finger!

Wheat Germ looks like . . . wheat germ. Smells good too!

Oh delicious bread! Oh melty butter! Oh yum yum yum.

Ps. Thanks dad for taking the time to type this up in an email!

