Tags

, , ,

So . . . here I am in a house full of boxes and a kitchen in disarray. And not the usual disarray, half eaten bowls of cereal and the collection of glasses Grace goes through in a day, but hard core, I don’t know where to put anything and who designed this kitchen with so many lazy susans in the cabinet disarray. Plus, my crock pot is missing and I’m fixated on that. For some stupid reason.

While I was so excited to get back in the kitchen, the chaos makes me less excited. So I thought I’d ease back into it. With something I could stuff my face with at every turn. Enter: Mac and Cheese. That’s right kids! It doesn’t have to come from the box and glow orange! Revolutionary!

I know most people have their own homemade recipe, but I didn’t. And when I wanted one, I turned to the one lady who I trusted to know what to do with cheese and butter: Ms. Paula Dean. This recipe is actually for the slow cooker, but since mine is MIA, I used the dutch oven. I have made it in the crockpot before and it turned out just as good. Enjoy. Oh, and you can add brocoli and chicken or whatever, if you have a husband like mine who insists it isn’t a meal without protein.

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

  • 2 Cups uncooked elbow macaroni
  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 1/2 Cups grated extra sharp Cheddar cheese (if you’re a wuss, don’t use extra sharp, if you’re a fancy pants, try to find white cheddar)
  • 3 eggs ( I didn’t use any eggs. Something about that weirds me out)
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 can cheddar cheese soup
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teas. dry mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Bring pot of well salted water to a boil and add macaroni. Meanwhile, melt butter and cheese in medium sauce pan (or if using a pot on the stove instead of crock pot, just melt them in there).
  2. Transfer cheese/butter to crock pot. Stir in milk, sour cream, cheddar cheese soup, eggs and mustard. Add drained pasta and stir well.
  3. Set your crock pot to low and cook for up to three hours, stirring occasionally. OR, cook for 30 minutes on stovetop. Season with salt and pepper before serving.

There is nothing here to help your cholesterol or the size of your rear. And look! I'm cooking with my iPad now! No more printing out recipies!

Cooks Note #1: Check your pasta package directions for the time it will take to cook the noodles to al dente. Set your timer for one minute less. Trust me. You want the pasta a little chewy, especially for the crock pot. Otherwise you will end up with mush. I cooked mine on the stovetop for about 30 minutes and the noodles tripled in size.

Cooks note #2: The secret ingredient here: nutmeg. I know, it sounds gross. But trust me. Just add a little dash before you serve it. It’s delicious (and if you don’t trust me, and why should you, spoon some into a bowl, add the smallest pinch of nutmeg and try it yourself).

Finished product. Still orange enough to fool the kids into eating it.

