Tags

, , , ,

I don’t usually buy Martha Stewart’s Living Magazine, because well, it makes me feel inferior. Everything is so perfect, so crisp, so clean in her world. If you’ve been in my house you know my world is none of those things. Martha Stewart would soil herself if she came in here.  Of course she has a whole staff of people to help her, but I kinda get the sense she’d keep everything that orderly if it was just her putzing around the house.

Anyway, I bought the July issue because of the gorgeous picture of fireworks cookies on the cover (which I tried and of course they didn’t look as good). But on the very last page was a recipe for blue berry lemon tea cakes. We all know how I love lemon, and I had some blueberries to use up. Normally I would flippantly suggest more lemon! more blueberries! but in all the Martha Stewart recipes I’ve tried I’ve found it’s best to just do exactly as you are told. Martha knows best, afterall. This recipe is a winner. It looks gorgeous and it tastes divine. A real summer time treat. The magazine suggests to you make them to give away. Why would you give anything this good away? Share a piece, sure, but don’t give it away.

ps. I used one loaf pan instead of 9 mini loaf pans, because I don’t have mini loafs pans. Never saw the point. Until now. It took me over an hour to bake the cake. And it was still moist and delicious, it just took forever to be done. So if you have mini loaf pans, I suggest using them.

BLueberry Lemon Tea Cake

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened.

    Whew! All that juicing was hard work. Too bad there wasn't any juice left over for a vodka on the rocks.

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 Cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup, plus two tablespoons lemon juice (about four or five lemons. Zest first! Then Squeeze!)
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teas. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teas. baking powder , 1/4 teas. baking soda, 1/4 teas. salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 6 oz. blueberries (1 1/4 cups)
  1. Preheat your oven to 350. Butter and flour your loaf pans (I used parchment and cooking spray. Don’t tell martha!).
  2. Combine 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup lemon juice in small saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally until sugar dissolves and syrup is thickened, about 4 minutes. Let stand.
  3. Combine heavy cream, 2 tablespoons lemon juice and vanilla in small bowl, set aside. In another bowl, whisk flour, baking soda and powder and salt together, set aside. In your mixer bowl, cream together butter and 1 cup sugar and lemon zest until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low and add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each.
  4. Add flour mixture in three additions, alternating with cream mixture. Begin and end with flour. Gently fold in blueberries by hand (do not use your mixer. Unless you want purple cakes. Then go for it.)
  5. Divide evenly amongst mini loaf pans or pour into large loaf pan. Bake minis for 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean from center. Bake large loaf 50 minutes at least, then begin checking for doneness.
  6. Brush warm cakes with lemon syrup while still in pans. Let stand for 15 minutes. Turn out cakes and brush again with lemon syrup. May be stored for two days or in the freezer for up to 3 weeks.

Be gentle with your blueberries. And look! You can see the lemon zest. That's how you know it will be tasty.

Hello pretty loaf of tea cake! I'm going to soak you in lemon syrup now!

Just the right amount of tangy lemon and blueberry. Nosh nosh nosh.

