Tags

, , , ,

MMMMMMM . . . overly ripe bananas!

I first had this banana bread a very long time ago at my Gramma Edna’s house. She is a fantastic baker and I was reluctant to ask for the recipe for fear it would be complicated to make. Eventually I did ask her for it and she hand wrote the whole thing out for me. What a treasure to have! Most of my recipes are printed off the computer, so this is a nice keepsake. I always think of her and the way her pantry smelled and how she always mixes the flour and other dry ingredients on wax paper (you can create a funnel with it to make pouring it in a stand mixer easier) when I pull the recipe card out.

The original recipe calls for a layer of cream cheese filling in the center. For the longest time I would make this and give it away and people wouldn’t say much about it. I asked once if someone liked it and they reluctantly told me it was good, but I had under baked it and it wasn’t set in the middle. I asked Gramma about it once and she said “Ginny (she’s from the south), I stopped making it with a layer in the middle a long time ago. I just mix the cream cheese right in.”

So that’s how the recipe is below. Sure, you can use  ripe bananas to make smoothies or something else healthy. But I say when life hands you overly ripe bananas, make banana bread. Just like when life hands you lemons, make yourself some lemon cheesecake.

Creamy Banana Coffee Cake

This is destined to be a family heirloom. A banana crusted heirloom.

Cream Cheese Filling

  • 6 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. flour
  • 1/2 tea. nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  1. Combine first six ingredients, beat well. Add egg and mix well. Set aside.

Batter

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened

    Nutmeg and cinnamon smell yum yum yum.

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teas. baking soda and 3 Tbsp. hot water
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teas. baking powder
  • 1/2 teas. salt, 1/2 teas. nutmeg, 1 teas. cinnamon (or more)
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 teas. vanilla
  • 3 medium, ripe bananas, mashed
  1. Preheat your oven to 350. Line two loaf pans with parchment paper, spray with cooking spray (you can also just line the bottom and spray the bottom and sides).
  2.  Cream together butter and sugar. Mix at least one minute. Add eggs, one at a time. Mix baking soda and hot water until soda is dissolved, mix into butte mixture.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, nutmeg and cinnamon. Add to butter mixture alternately with orange juice, mixing well after each addition. Add bananas and vanilla. Mix in cream cheese filling.
  4. Divide batter evenly between loaf pans. Tap pans on counter to level them out. Bake for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with only a few crumbs.

Optional glaze

  • 2 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
  1. After loaves have cooled for 20 minutes, mix together and pour evenly over both loaves.

    I use the potato masher to make sure the bananas get really smooth. I don't like banana chunks in my bread. You can also use the food processor (add bananas, vanilla and about 1 Tbsp of the orange juice and process until smooth)

    Looks tasty without the glaze. And it is. But when does extra butter and sugar ever make anything worse?

    Yep, better with the glaze.

    Missing the cream cheese center, but at least no one will think I took it out too soon.

    Do as Edna tells you. Make it and enjoy!

     

