Tags

, , , ,

A few months ago I went onto Amazon and ordered a subscription to Bon Appetit magazine. These days I end up buying it or some other cooking magazine at the checkout line anyhow. I’m letting my subscriptions to Marie Claire and Glamour expire. Both great magazines, but when their hot summer trend is a romper and my five year old is wearing a romper, it’s like two worlds colliding. Time to move on.

I waited paitiently for it to come and when it arrived: YES! So excited and then . . . Gwyneth Paltrow is on the cover. I am not a big fan. It’s not about her acting. I just find her “I’m a working mom like you” schtick inauthentic. She makes about a million times more than any working mom I know. She’s not doing yoga dvd’s during naptime to keep that figure, she has Jay-Z and Beyonce over for BBQ’s and she suggests a $785 tank dress as a spring ‘basic’. Let’s be real. She’s a movie star, she’s not like a rest of us and that’s ok. I just wish she’d admit it.

Ms. Paltrow has a new cookbook out, My Father’s Daughter. She says she learned to cook with her dad. Points for that. She also suggests always drinking wine while you cook. More points for that. I think cooking with your family is a great way to spend time together. And if you follow this blog at all you know I think wine or a vodka tonic is a good way to unwind.  So I perused the recipes the Bon Appetit editor claims she came up with on her own, and settled on Grilled Chicken with Peach BBQ Sauce.  I’m always looking for a new way to spice up chicken, and the ingredients weren’t anything weird. So I grabbed some frozen peaches and off we went . . .

The verdict: The sauce is good (and I say that begrudgingly). It’s a keeper, especially for the summer months when you have a few almost over ripe peaches around. I would use lots more adobo sauce, but that’s just me. And Grace liked the ‘kid’ version with soy sauce instead of chipotle. Next I’d like to try her Strawberry Shortcake Sliders, if I could just figure out a substitute for spelt flour . . .

Grilled Chicken with Peach BBQ Sauce

  • 1 cup chopped fresh or frozen peaches (thawed)
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juics
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 tea. adobo sauce or 1 tea. soy sauce **Note, if you are making for kiddies, leave these out until later!!**
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 skinless, boneless organic chicken breasts (but if you don’t use organic, who is gonna know?)
  1. Mix peaches, lemon juice, ketchup, garlic and salt and pepper in a medium sauce pan, bring to a boil over medium high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer until peaches are soft and flavors have melted, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool slightly. Pour mixture in blender and puree until smooth. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  2. ** If you are making a no heat version, or just 1 or 2 no heat chicken breasts for the kids, spoon some of the marinade into a small bag add soy sauce and selected chicken breasts** Add adobo sauce to rest of marinade in the blender.
  3. Place half the sauce in a zip lock bag or a glass bowl, add chicken and turn to coat. Let marinate at room temperature for 20 minutes or in the refrigerator for up to 8 hours.
  4.  Be sure to use vegetable oil or grill spray first to coat the grates. Heat grill to medium high and cook chicken until nearly done, then brush with reserved sauce. Grill until sauce is heated through and chicken is done. Serve remaining sauce on the side.

Chipotles aren’t that expensive, but it always seems like a waste to throw the rest away.

** Cooks suggestion **: If you’re like me, you cook with chipotles in adobo often, but never use the whole can. I usually put my remaining chiles and sauce in two sandwhich sized bags and freeze for the next time I need a little spice. Rachel Ray and others put them individually into ice cube trays. I don’t have time for that, but if you do, go for it.

As a second suggestion, if you like to cook at all, subscribe to a cooking magazine. There are tons out there to fit what you like to make and your skill level and even if you don’t make all the recipes cover to cover each month, it will inspire you.

Peaches and ketchup. Yep, that sounds yummy.

The chicken had really dark grill marks, but was still very moist inside.

