Tags

, , , , ,

I've always wondered: is he smiling or frowning?

What’s that? Don’t I know you can buy granola bars at the store? Sure I do. I’ve got a box in the pantry right now. But this stuff doesn’t taste anything like those stale ole’ store bought bars. And the smell. THE SMELL. Everytime I make this recipe I wonder why some enterprising genius doesn’t sell granola bar candles and lotion and car fresheners. I think heaven may just smell like peanut butter, honey, and brown sugar mixed together.

The recipe is courtesy Ms. Giada de Laurentis. Also known as the only cook on the food network my husband will watch. I wonder why.  I checked out the online reviews before I made them the first time. Most said “too much butter”. I made them the way the recipe is posted online the first time. Waaaay too much butter. So below I have the recipe as I make it (with less butter and extra oats, because I’m a sucker for extra oats) but if you want to go by the book, you can go here.

For anyone interested, this takes about 10 minutes to assemble. I timed it today, and that was including two requests for snacks and two breaks to answer the horde of neighborhood children demanding Grace come out to play. Right. Now.

Some nice additions to these bars are: dried cherries, golden raisins, peanuts. But today I was too lazy.

Homemade Granola Bars

  • Cooking Spray
  • 1 egg white (got some of the yolk in there? no big deal)
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter (if you use natural peanut butter, reduce butter)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey (spray your measuring cup with cooking spray first)
  • 4 Tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds (optional)
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Beat egg white in bowl until frothy. Add peanut butter, brown sugar and honey. Mix. Add butter, oats, almonds and any other additions you are making. Mix. Add chocolate chips, mix until everything is evenly incorporated.

    That's SUPER chunky peanut butter to you.

  2. Line an 8×8 baking dish with parchment paper. Lightly coat paper with cooking spray. Pour in batter. To compact bars, spray your hands, or the bottom of a cup or dish with cooking spray and press down evenly.
  3. Bake bars for 20 minutes, or until edges are golden brown and center is lightly brown. Cool for at least one hour before cutting. Store in refrigerator.
Make sure you use something to compact the bars. Otherwise, you’ll have loose granola. Still yummy, harder to transport.
