Tags

,

A long, long time ago ( back when I had only one child and a shred of my sanity) I decided I wanted to make a quilt. At the time, I was pregnant so perhaps it was my nesting instinct. Wouldn’t a quilt be nice! Sitting quietly piecing it would be so Little House on the Prarie! Everyone loves a quilt, right? It’ll be a family heirloom, blah blah blah.  So I ordered a pattern off of Etsy that the seller assured me would be a snap for a beginner. When the pattern arrived, I almost cried. No way in hell I could do that. No way.

More recently my friend Lauren decided to make a  quilt. She too ordered a pattern off of Etsy and when I saw her fabric laid out in a facebook photo, I thought, I can do that! Once again letting my desire to do something domestic get ahead of reality. You see, Lauren is a fantastic seamstress. She makes these killer dresses for her daughters and awesome shirts with kids ages or “big sister” on them, burp cloths and nursing covers. Lauren let me know that she was having some trouble getting the seam allowances correct and had opted to practice on a table runner. She graciously sent me the fabric and pattern and tonight, after weeks of putting it off, I got to work.

Below is a picture of my first cut. What you can’t tell is that my hand is shaking like a crack addict looking for a fix. I think I’m going to have to go on Prozac if I want to keep this up. Lessons learned: I need a yard stick and a bigger rotary mat. Guess Jane and I are taking a field trip to the craft store tomorrow. And maybe we’ll pick up some Jack Daniels. Just to steady my nerves.

