Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m not the biggest fan of salad. Unless it’s a salad that’s more like a meal, like cobb salad or chicken caesar (heavy on the chicken, light on the salad). But I understand that when you are entertaining or having a heavy meal, it’s customary to throw some greenery at people . I wasn’t raised in a barn afterall.  So this is my go to salad for those occasions. It’s very simple but it has tons of flavor and it’s pretty to look at. So most of the time it actually gets eaten instead of sitting forlornly on the table feeling left out.

Use:  1/2 cup craisins, zest of one orange, 1/3 cup pecans (or walnuts, or almonds. I’m not going to fight you over your favorite nut), 6 ozs. blue cheese (or, if you are one of those people who claims to hate blue cheese, feta), half a bunch of fresh spinach, half a head of red lettuce (or whatever lettuce looks good at the grocery store or farmers market). Use more greenery for more people.

Now, this is what I call a pretty good-looking salad. Even my dad ate it once, and he hates blue cheese.

For the dressing: Dijon or coarse ground mustard, honey, juice of one orange, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper. And no, I can't give you measurements. I never measure. These are just the ingredients I've found to be a good base for a salad dressing (and it's always stuff you have around). Try starting with one teaspoon mustard, one teaspoon honey, o.j., two tablespoons vinegar. Whisk in enough olive oil to emulsify. Then taste. Too mustardy? Add some honey. Not enough bite? Add some vinegar. And if you really want to fancy it up, add just a dash or two of soy sauce. Trust me.





Toss with salad immediately before serving. Pat yourself on the back for feeding people salad they will actually enjoy.



