Tags

, , , ,

I found this recipe on The Shortlists. Below is my unkosher version and tweaks, you can find the completely Kosher version (and a ton of other recipes) on The Shortlists. Check her blog out anyhow. It’s neat.

I must be on a coconut kick, I’ve been dumping it in nearly everything lately.  And you don’t have to ask me twice to dip anything in chocolate. I’d dip broccoli in it if I thought it would taste even a little ok. As I type this, Grace just informed me Jane had chocolate on her forehead. Anyhow, this recipe was relatively simple. Except the trip to Whole Foods for unsweetened coconut  and for raw honey. Sure, I could have used maple syrup, but I hate the stuff. Don’t judge, just leave me and my bottle of Aunt Jemima alone. I do have a couple of notes to follow the recipe.

Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons

  • 2 1/2 Cups unsweetened coconut
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon raw honey or maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla or almond extract
  • 4 ounces dark chocolate, for dipping

In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients except coconut. You will have a thick paste. Stir in coconut. Pour mixture into a saucepan and heat over medium low heat for 5 minutes or until the mixture really begins to thicken and nearly sticks to the bottom of the pan. Mixture should remain sticky. Return mixture to the bowl you mixed it in and let it cool to room temperature. ** Once cooled, the mixture can be store in the fridge for up to one week or in the freezer for a month**

Preheat oven to 350. Line your baking sheet with parchment and using a tablespoon or small dough scoop, space small mounds of dough evenly on sheet. Bake for 18-20 mins or until golden brown.

If you want to dip your macaroons in chocolate, wait until they are completely cooled. Heat 4 oz. of chocolate in a double boiler, dip bottoms, tops or the whole darn thing. Cool on a parchment lined baking sheet or a cooling rack.

Cookies can be stored in a Tupperware for up to a week.

Looks like paper mache paste while it's cooking. Smells a little like heaven though.

Bakers suggestion #1: Keep a close eye on these. Depending on your oven, they may start to brown up on the bottom or top a little faster than you’d think. So after about 15 minutes, I’d leave the oven light on and check them regularly.

Bakers suggestion #2: I have to admit to being cheap here. Unsweetened coconut from Whole Foods is pricey. So I didn’t buy the big bag. Meaning I didn’t have 2 1/2 cups and I had to use a little sweetened coconut. Sue me. To compensate, I reduced the sugar by two tablespoons and most importantly, reduced the cooking temp to 325 because sweetened coconut burns easily.

Bakers suggestion #3: While I was melting my chocolate I put my parchment lined baking sheet and the cookies themselves into the freezer. It helped the chocolate stick. ALSO, use good quality chocolate.

Chocolate in a double boiler always ends well.

I don't know. Why haven't you made these yet? Crunchy on the outside, but soft and almost gooey on the inside.

