Tags

, , , , , , ,

I do not come up with recipes. I have enough on my plate just trying to make other people’s recipes while Jane sits on my feet and Grace hollers “Let me help! I wanna help! Can I stir? I won’t burn myself, I promise . . . . OWWW I burned myself!” I do however, like to tweak other people’s recipes .

One of the recipes I mess with all the time is the traditional Quaker Oatmeal Cookie. You can put pretty much anything in an oatmeal cookie and it will taste good.  It’s like making homemade granola bars to your specific tastes. Below is the original recipe with my additions at the end. And no, I don’t think oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips is a revolution. I know it’s been done before. The point is to get in there and try making something up yourself. Hate oatmeal raisin? Well dump something else in there and see what happens!

Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  • 1/2 Cup butter (1 stick) softened
  • 3/4 Cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 Cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (or more, if you’re like me and you love cinnamon)
  • 3 Cups Quaker oats (quick cook or old fashioned)
Jenn’s Additions:
  • 1 bag white chocolate chips (or less, for less sweetness)
  • 1 Cup craisins or golden raisins
  • 3/4 cup toasted coconut
  • 1/3 Cup Quaker oats ( I like my cookies extra oaty. this is optional, of course)
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
1. Cream the butter, sugar and applesauce together. Add vanilla and eggs one at a time. 2. Add flour, baking soda and cinnamon in batches until complete incorporated.
3. Add chips, craisins, coconut and extra oats, mix until combined.
4. Scoop heaping tablespoons onto parchment lined baking sheet. Make a small impression in the middle of the cookie to ensure even cooking. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes, or until they are as brown as you like them. Cool on wire racks. If you can wait that long.

Mixed and ready. Of course, you’ll want to try a few spoonfuls at this point, to ensure you’ve put in enough chocolate chips and craisins for your taste. Just to check taste. Not because the dough is SO DELICIOUS

Baker’s suggestion #1: You can usually substitute apple sauce for part or all of the oil or butter in a recipe ( a baking recipe, I’d use caution if you’re trying to saute with applesauce). Do so with caution, and don’t try it if the star of the end product is supposed to be butter (for instance, I wouldn’t make snickerdoodles with applesauce). It usually results in a little bit chewier cookie. I add two tablespoons of applesauce to this recipe to help hold the extra oats and other deliciousness together. But if you don’t have any, you should be ok.

Baker’s suggestion #2: Always add your dry ingredients slowly (and always mix them together in a bowl separately first). Trust me, this is only something I’ve started doing recently and it helps, a lot. I used to just dump all the flour, baking soda, powder, whatever in all at once. But the wet ingredients don’t absorb everything as well and the baking soda or powder don’t get mixed evenly.

Off to a good start.

Toasted coconut? Yes please! And your house will smell delicious too.

