This is my best friend Stephanie and I. We have been friends since we were 14, or roughly half of our lives. She and her family came to visit us here in paradise this past week. I know you’re jealous your best friend doesn’t live in paradise

This is Grace and her best friend Isabelle. Isabelle is Stephanie’s daughter. They’ve been best friends since around the time I told Stephanie I was pregnant. They never really had a choice in the matter.

Seeing them together is neat, but it makes me feel old. Why? It’s weird to see your own kid hanging out with the kid of a lady who you used to call to giggle about boys and go prom dress shopping with and drink Keystone Ice with in college. And watching the two of them run around and tell secrets and giggle over nothing is like watching my youth play out in front of me all over again.

The good thing about having your mom tell you who your best friend is is that you don’t have to do any of the hard work. You don’t have to make nice at first, you don’t have to go through all that awkward getting to know you stuff, you don’t have to worry about whether she’ll like your head band or your sneakers. Your just friends. That’s it. Of course, being friends isn’t always easy.

So girls, let me give you a little advice. Stay friends. I’m sure you will both make lots and lots of other friends, good friends, best friends, boyfriends, all that good stuff. But stick with each other too. Because it can be a big, tough world out there and sometimes the only thing you’ll have to get through it is each other. Sometimes you’ll need that one girl who you’ve known your who life and likes you anyway. Just ask your mom 😉

