Tags

, , ,

fbcookieswap_wood

A while ago, while wasting time on the internet, I stumbled across The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap page. I was instantly going to do it, even though my best friend suggested I might get poisoned cookies. But I LOVE cookies and I was willing to risk it for three packages of cookies in the mail. The premise is this: you sign up, you pick a cookie recipe you haven’t blogged before, you make 3 dozen, you mail them to your assigned matches, you sit back and wait for your three packages to roll in.

Sounds easy, right? I immediately started freaking out about what cookies to make. All of my best recipes are already on my blog. I wanted to impress . . . it was worse than picking out a first day of school outfit.

I settled on Ghirardelli¬†Peppermint Chocolate Cookies. It was the recipe on the back of a coupon I had for Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark. Classy, right? The cookies are super duper chocolatly and the peppermint bark is a nice addition, but it doesn’t overwhelm the cookie.

I shipped my cookies to My Kitchen Kreations to You, Being the Secret Ingredient and A Couple in the Kitchen. I received beautifully individually packaged cookies from A Taste of Koko, white chocolate chip and craisin cookies from Ice Cream Meets Bowl and chocolate chip cookies with salted caramel from Living with a Boy . Thank you so much to all three, the cookies were wonderful.

Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

  • 8 ounces 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chipes
  • 2 Peppermint Baking Bars, 3.5 oz.
  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 teasp. baking powder
  1. Melt butter and chocolate together until smooth (use a double boiler or if you’re brave, the microwave) set aside to cool slightly
  2. Beat eggs and sugar together, add chocolate mixture. Mix flour and baking powder in separate bowl, mix into chocolate mixture.
  3. Chop peppermint bark, stir into batter
  4. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.
Festive already, right?

Festive already, right?

You know it's good because they wrap it in gold foil.

You know it’s good because they wrap it in gold foil.

So pretty much this recipe requires that you melt a BUNCH of chocolate with a HEAP of butter and then add a tiny amount of egg and flour. I was done at bunch of chocolate and heap of butter.

So pretty much this recipe requires that you melt a BUNCH of chocolate and then add really small amounts of butter and flour and stuff. That’s the best part. IT’S PRETTY MUCH ALL CHOCOLATE, bound together with a little flour.

Finished product. I figured the recipe would make 3 dozen plus more so I could share with my family. When I went to package them, I had exactly 36 cookies. My husband had apparently been eating them at will, thinking I had plenty.

Finished product. I figured the recipe would make 3 dozen plus more so I could share with my family. When I went to package them, I had exactly 36 cookies. My husband had apparently been eating them at will, thinking I had plenty.

