Tags

, ,

I’m going to be really upfront about this and tell you that my first attempt at this wreath was a ridiculous disaster, complete with at least 7 shattered ornaments, a lot of sweeping and vaccuming and more than a few curse words. DO NO LET THAT DETER YOU. I learned from my mistakes so that you don’t have to.

In reality, if I had taken the time to think this project through a little I would have saved myself all that sweeping. So, to make a coat hanger ornament wreath you will need:

  • 1 wire coat hanger
  • At least 48 christmas balls, large size, and at least a dozen smaller ones. Any colors you want.
  • Hot glue gun
  • pliers/wire cutters.

I bought my ornaments at the base thrift store. I would suggest for your first wreath using second hand ornaments, either raided from a friend or relative who went a little crazy with a theme tree one year (Ohhh, all white ornaments, how pretty!) or from a thirft store, Goodwill (find one here) or Savers (find one here). Because I bought mine for $2 a box, when they broke I didn’t really feel all that bad. Angry that I was a klutz, but not bad they were broken.

Untwist the top of the wire hanger. Cut off the hook and if you want, trim off the twisty part. Make two small hooks at the ends, bend one almost parallel to the floor so they are easy to hook together when you are done with the wreath. Then shape the hanger into a circle. Thanks to my husband for pointing out this was the easy way to connect it, after watching me struggle with two straight ends of a hanger full of ornaments.

Remove the metal cap on the ornaments and glue it back in place. Trust me when I tell you this is the MOST important step. Once the ornaments start hitting up against each other on the wreath the glue is the only thing keeping them from popping off and breaking.

Start loading your hanger with ornaments. I reccomend using a smaller size at least every two or three large, it will help the ornaments fit together better. And you’ll probably use more ornaments than you think. I was surprised how many it took to fill up the hanger. Grace was a lot more ginger with the ornaments than I was, so let the kids help if you think they can.

When your hanger is full, hook the two ends together and you’re ready to hang it up! Of course, it doesn’t lay flat against the wall like a normal wreath, so I rigged this up with ribbon. My ribbon is a little thin, you might want to get wider. Or you could try a wreath hanger. I didn’t because I was afraid of hanging it on a door where it would get jostled.  Use a bow to cover any bare spots at the top. Viola! You’re done! And seriously, this is my favorite wreath in the house, it’s so festive and bright. Honestly, try this if you can find enough ornaments.

Photos made with Instagram.

