Tags

, , ,

I know, I know, cooking with margarine? Really Jenn?  I’m sure some of you will give up on my blog now. I agree. I like butter better. It’s not good for you, but at least it’s natural in origin, not an invention of the 19th century.  But when I was in college I was broke, broke, broke. So if I had some sort of buttery spread in the fridge, it was margarine. Which is how one day I came to look at the back of the box and discover that yes! you can bake with margarine.

The Blue Bonnet Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe has been my favorite ever since. I don’t know if it’s because the recipe only calls for brown sugar, or double the amount of vanilla of most recipes or if it’s the margarine. But the cookies taste rich and delicious, more like the gourmet cookies you buy at bakeries. Today I was trying to rearrange the freezer to make room for Kirk’s father’s day ice cream cake and I discovered I had three, half used bags of different kinds of chocolate chips. So I figured why not use up the margarine I had from my cinnamon roll recipe and the chips at the same time. Match. Made. In. Heaven. So go ahead, give margarine a chance. Just this once. Otherwise, stick to butter.

Blue Bonnet Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teas. baking soda
  • 3/4 cup blue bonnet margarine, melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teas. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (but I always add more, particularly more Ghiradelli 60% cacao chips)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Mix flour and baking soda in separate bowl.
  2. Cream margarine and sugar. Add egg. Mix in flour mixture slowly, add vanilla and chips.
  3. Spoon onto parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 9-12 minutes until cookies are your desired brownness. Let cool on cookie sheet one minute before moving to cooling rack. Eat and marvel that you made those with margarine.

Go ahead, mix up your chips! The more chocolate, the merrier!

As I've said on this blog before, dough is just the grout to hold together the mix ins. It should always look like there might not be enough dough to hold everything together. That's when you know you've done good.

Nothing fancy here. Just classic chocolate chip deliciousness.

